The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow video tour: Katherine Woodfine on researching Edwardian crime

Clockwork Sparrow foil

The YA Shot team is thoroughly and completely delighted to present today’s stop on the video tour for Katherine Woodfine’s gorgeous debut, The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow. We hear it’s perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Enid Blyton and Robin Stevens’ Wells and Wong series.

‘A wonderful book, with a glorious heroine and a true spirit of adventure.’

Katherine Rundell

 

We cannot wait to read it. Read more about the book on Katherine’s YA Shot Author Page.

8.) How did you learn about Edwardian crime

But first, here’s Katherine talking about her research process!


Need more? Check out the other stops on the video tour!

Friday 22 May – Tales of Yesterday

Saturday 23 May – Library Mice

Monday 25 May – YA Yeah Yeah

Tuesday 26 May – Overflowing Library

Wednesday 27 May – Middle Grade Strikes Back

Thursday 28 May – Winged Reviews

Friday 29 May – Tales of Yesterday

Saturday 30 May – Snuggling on the Sofa

Tuesday 2 June – Playing by the Book

Wednesday 3 June – George Lester Reads

Thursday 4 June (publication day) – Chouchett Blog


 

Author the author

Katherine Woodfine is Arts Project Manager at Booktrust, the UK’s most prominent literacy charity. She is a true champion of children’s literature and throughout her time at Booktrust has project-managed the Children’s Laureateship and worked on a huge range of other children’s book prizes and initiatives, including YALC 2014, the UK’s first Young Adult Literature Convention, curated by Malorie Blackman.

She has reviewed and recommended children’s titles online, in print and on the radio as part of the founding team at Down the Rabbit Hole, a monthly show for Resonance FM discussing children’s literature.  She lives in London.  Follow Katherine on Twitter @followtheyellow.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s